BCFP Announces New Advisory Committee Members

The Bureau of Consumer Financial Protection (Bureau) appointed new experts from outside the federal government to the Consumer Advisory Board, Community Bank Advisory Council, and Credit Union Advisory Council. The three advisory committees will provide advice to Bureau leadership on a broad range of consumer financial issues and emerging market trends.

The newly appointed members (click here for a list) include experts in consumer protection, financial services, FinTech, community development, fair lending, civil rights, and consumer financial products and services as well as representatives of community banks and credit unions. Advisory committee members will serve a one-year term.

The Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act charged the Bureau with establishing a Consumer Advisory Board to advise and consult with the Bureau’s Director on a variety of consumer financial issues. In March 2018, the Bureau issued a notice in the Federal Register outlining the responsibilities of the advisory committees, as well as the duties of its members, and solicited applications for appointment.